Awards and Recognitions

FIL Literary Prize bestowed by the Civil Association Prize for Literature in Romance Languages

The $150,000 FIL Literature Award is presented in recognition for lifetime achievement in any literary genre. Past recipients include: Nicanor Parra (1991), Juan José Arreola (1992), Eliseo Diego (1993), Julio Ramón Ribeyro (1994), Nélida Piñón (1995), Augusto Monterroso (1996),Juan Marsé (1997), Olga Orozco (1998), Sergio Pitol (1999), Juan Gelman (2000), Juan García Ponce (2001), Cintio Vitier (2002), Rubem Fonseca (2003), Juan Goytisolo (2004), Tomás Segovia (2005), Carlos Monsiváis (2006), Fernando del Paso (2007), António Lobo Antunes(2008), Rafael Cadenas (2009), Margo Glantz (2010), Fernando Vallejo (2011), Alfredo Bryce Echenique (2012), Yves Bonnefoy (2013 ), Claudio Magris (2014), Enrique Vila­Matas (2015) and Norman Manea ( 2016).

The institutions that constitute the FIL Literary Prize bestowed by the Civil Association Prize for Literature in Romance Languages are the Ministry of Culture, the University of Guadalajara, the Fondo de Cultura Económica, the Government of the State of Jalisco, the Municipality of Guadalajara, the Municipality of Zapopan, Bancomext, Arca Continental, Grupo Modelo and Montegrappa.

Responsive image


Emmanuel Carrère

(París, 1657)



Emmanuel Carrère (Paris, 1957) is one of France’s most acclaimed writers. His prolific, versatile and broad body of work spans diverse creative terrain, from writing to producing, and screenwriting for film and television. His work has been translated into more than twenty languages. His non-fiction novels give literary form to the events that happen around him. In his works ranging from biographies, reporting and autofiction, he has developed a unique style that has made him into one of today’s most-read and influential authors. Several of his books have been made into films, and in 2005 he directed the cinematographic adaptation of his novel The Mustache (1986). Throughout his career Carrère has received numerous awards, including the Renaudot, the Femina, the Duménil or the prize given out by the French newspaper, Le Monde. Some of his numerous works include: La classe de neige (1995), The Adversary (2000), A Russian Novel (2007), Lives Other than My Own(2009), Limonov (2011), The Kingdom (2014), and The Mustache (1986), mentioned above.



For any questions about the terms of this call for entries please contact Dulce María Zúñiga, email